HELP!!

Amid the stress and craziness of assessments I’ve forgotten my pact to post a bitchin’ Beatles song every day for a week.

You’ll have to forgive me – it’s been a hectic fortnight or so. It’s ok though I’ll just back track. No-one follows my blog closely enough to notice…. *weeps*

So; four Beatles songs?

This track would have been my Sunday’s post however now it will be Wednesdays. I don’t know why I like this one so much – probably because it has a real progression to it. It’s like a miniature journey; it starts off slow, single guitar riff at the beginning which I loved from the first moment I heard it. Simple lyrics: ‘Dear Prudence, won’t you come out to play?’ and in come the drums and bass after the first few bars.

The track shifts half way in, slows down again. Drum beat has more emphasis, yet the lyrics remain simple; classic Beatles. 3 minutes in and the song really begins to build, with one quaver (to be precise) of piano teasing at 3:22. I would have loved if they’ve done a piano version of this… sometimes I really regret not continuing with piano lessons. However there’s an acoustic demo by John (who wrote the song) which is almost as good 😉

This song is really beautiful and very relaxing – the kind that you imagine yourself listening to whilst lying in a field with the sun beaming down on you and a gentle breeze blowing on your face. Ahh, ce sont les petites choses..

This one can again be found on the White Album.

Leave a Reply

