BLOGGERIFIC

So, this week has felt a bit uneventful to be honest- even though it really hasn’t been. I guess in terms of the monumental and ridiculous amount of things we’ve achieved and learned in the past two weeks, this week has seemed pretty tame! The things that really stick out in my mind aren’t really very blog-worthy (or maybe appropriate is the better word..); like the fact this morning Sam, Caroline, Parky and I spent hours wondering around looking for a house- where there was supposed to be a party happening- that we never actually found. And when I say hours… I mean hours. I have definitely never walked that far in heels ever.

In other news I dyed my hair and got it cut, made 17 cupcakes in one sitting and blew my nose about ten million times.

However I did also go to my first Radiowave meeting- which was very exciting. I’ve got so many ideas for my one hour show ! And next week we’re going to be shown how to use the desk in the studio, which is ironic because my entire course this term is based around radio and working in the studio!!

I also had to interview someone again this week for editing Monday. This time the interview had to be conducted in the workplace, with a news worthy angle. By some stroke of luck my attention span (which has surprised and impressed me since starting this course- normally I find it hard to concentrate on anything for longer than a couple of minutes) actually worked in my favour. I remembered us missing a local story in our daily news bulletin that featured in Radio Cornwall’s 10 o clock news about Falmouth and the high street, so naturally- as I live on the high street- I decided to my interview with an independent business owner and tie it in with the Save the High Street campaign. I initially wanted to do it at Falmouth Booksellers as I discovered the Booksellers Association have recently published a survey about the decline in book shops, however they said no… I also emailed a restaurant owner beforehand who had posted a comment on the Save the High Street Facebook page; however they never got back to me.

I ended up getting an interview with the owner of March Hare clothes shop, which was good- though there was a lesson to be learned during that interview…. despite my error I did at least practice and succeed in the art of how best to interview someone! The doodle pictured below demonstrates the correct technique (it is a very technical and detailed drawing so don’t worry if you can’t interpret it- it took me approximately 2 hours to draw).

As ever (I say as ever, this is only my second week in) I will bullet point the interesting and random occurrences of this week! First off:

►Verbs created from the word blog: blogtastic, bloggerific, blogify, blog-off


►Best meal of the week:
Harry (my housemates) spag bol. OMG. Delish!


►Unusual occurrences:
walking around for more than 3 hours in the middle of the night in Falmouth with no idea of where I was going.


►Things learnt in and outside the classroom:

that going to a Beer Festival at 6 in the evening, sober, is like walking into a brothel for women.
that Falmouth has shops that sell vinyl!!
that when an interviewee asks you to go through your questions before commencing recording but then starts fully answering the first question before you’ve officially started the interview, that you need to politely interrupt them and ask if they’d mind if you started recording, and not be a pansy like I was! Otherwise you lose all the good material +__+
that emailing businesses doesn’t get you very far and contacting people by phone is much faster and more logical.


►Best buys:
1 teddy bear hat, 1 cameo necklace and 2 bags from New Look that were not only reduced by 30% (for the bags) and 50% (for the necklace) but that I also got student discount on! AMAZING. Not to mention the 20% student discount I got on my hat. I ♥ you Peacocks!


►Incredible realisations:

that I have not bought one chocolate bar since arriving in Falmouth! But that I have made 17 chocolate orange cupcakes, one tray of chocolate brownie, one walnut and coffee cake and 5 cupcakes.
that 2 months ago my life was in no way interesting or eventful enough to write a blog (though I don’t want to flatter myself) and that if I had written a blog it would have been entirely about how rubbish working at ASDA is.. yet now I’m constantly out doing new things, learning new things and meeting new people; life changes so quickly it’s scary, yet equally incredible.

►Music most listened to:
The Hours
everything on my ‘How to Disappear Completely’ playlist, a collection of the most melancholy and sombre tunes! My music choices have been a bit depressing this week.

New music discovered:
Bonobo
Explosions in the Sky

Leave a Reply

